Did you know that a hedgehog wears 8,000 spines and can even capture mice, that storks can differ in their differently colored throat sac or that cranes break their voices at the age of 15 months?

We found out all these and other exciting facts and relationships in our zoo. And although you should assume that everything is already known for the animal species mentioned, there are still many gaps in knowledge.

Red Panda

The red panda is a particular focus of our research. He has been successfully kept in the Görlitz zoo since 1997. Since then, activity rhythms, vocalization, as well as eating, playing, mating and rearing behavior have been documented and published.

Further downloads:

Red Panda - German Version

Red Panda - English Version

other species

With a notebook, camera and tape, we also track the youth development of other animal species, whose biology from the wild is as yet little known. Field studies outside the zoo are also on the program. On the one hand, we are interested in the wildlife of our home "sponsorship areas" (white stork, vertebrates of the Königshain mountains and others). On the other hand, foreign species are examined that we want to show in our zoo or whose way of life is still largely unknown.

Haben Sie gewusst, dass ein Igel 8.000 Stacheln trägt und selbst Mäuse erbeuten kann, dass sich Störche an ihrem unterschiedlich gefärbten Kehlsack unterscheiden können oder dass Kraniche im Alter von 15 Monaten in den Stimmbruch kommen?

All diese und noch weitere spannende Fakten und Zusammenhänge haben wir in unserem Tierpark herausgefunden. Und obwohl man annehmen sollte, dass gerade bei den genannten Tierarten schon alles bekannt ist, gibt es noch viele Wissenslücken.

Roter Panda

Besonders im Fokus unserer Forschung steht der Rote Panda. Seit 1997 wird er erfolgreich im Görlitzer Tierpark gehalten. Seitdem wurden Aktivitätsrhytmen, Vokalisation sowie Nahrungs- , Spiel-, Paarungs- und Aufzuchtverhalten dokumentiert und veröffentlicht.

 

Weiterführende Downloads:

Roter Panda - Deutsche Version

Red Panda - English Version

weitere Arten

Mit Notizbuch, Fotoapparat und Tonband verfolgen wir auch die Jugendentwicklung weiterer Tierarten, über deren Biologie aus freier Wildbahn noch nichts oder nur wenig bekannt ist. Freilanduntersuchungen außerhalb des Tierparks stehen ebenfalls auf dem Programm. Zum einen interessiert uns die Tierwelt unserer heimatlichen "Patenschaftsgebiete" (Weißstorch, Wirbeltiere der Königshainer Berge und weitere). Zum anderen werden fremdländische Arten untersucht, die wir einmal in unserem Tierpark zeigen wollen oder über deren Lebensweise noch viel unbekannt ist (z. B. Maushasen aus Zentralasien).