The box turtle is the "Species of the year 2018"

Some Asian turtle species are already extinct in the wild or are only still present in small populations. This fate is also shared by the representatives of the genus of hinged turtles (Cuora spp.) which includes 13 species.

The species conservation project "Species of the year 2018 - the box turtle"

Above all, the loss of habitat but especially the excessive trade as food or as supposed medicine is causing the population of the box turtles a lot of difficulties. Turtles, especially box turtles have traditionally been part of Chinese medicine and cuisine. The few breeding facilities in Southeast Asia are far from being able to meet the steadily increasing demand. As a result turtles are now being captured from the wild throughout the entire Southeast Asian region and far beyond - right down to South America and Africa - in order to meet the demand in the Southeast Asian markets. Every year millions of individuals - including highly endangered species - are offered for sale on the market. Almost all relevant species are on the verge of extinction or are no longer found in their natural habitats.

To help these special animals the box turtle was voted "Species of the Year 2018".

Germany conservation project

The International Center for Turtle Protection (IZS) at the all-weather zoo in Münster gives many turtle species the chance of a last-minute rescue.

Turtles play a special role in Southeast Asian culture: they are considered to be lucky charms and symbolize a long life. These positive properties are great danger to the turtles because in addition to the destruction of their habitats they suffer from the fact that they are collected and sold on different markets as well.

Their meat, offal or ground bones and shell are part of traditional cuisine and medicine. Millions of individuals migrate to kitchens and pharmacies every year - an intervention that natural populations cannot compensate for.

Because of this situation the privateer Elmar Meier, the Zoological Society for Species and Population Protection (ZGAP), the German Society for Herpetology and Terrarium Science (DGHT) and the All-Weather Zoo Münster founded the International Center for Turtle Protection in 2003. The aim of the center is in particular to save the highly endangered species of box turtles from extinction.

Nine species and subspecies of the Cuora genus are currently being bred in the IZS. The IZS saved at least one of these species from extinction: Zhoui’s box tortoise (Cuora zhoui) was only known by a few individuals that were found on Chinese markets. The sustainable successful breeding of the species was only successful in Münster so that today about 70% of the known world population hatched in Münster. Last year a very special offspring was born: the first individuals  whose parents were also born in the zoo have hatched . This success shows that the species can be stabilized sustainably in human care because a release to the wild is not to be thought of so far.

Cambodia conservation project

The Angkor Center for Conservation of Biodiversity (ACCB) was founded in 2003 as one of the first species conservation centres in Cambodia. Located nearby the famous temple complex of Angkor Wat it is dedicated to taking in and caring for selected local animals and if possible later releasing them in compliance with appropriate international standards.

It was originally founded as a sanctuary for individuals of endangered species. Today with around 30 employees the center is also dedicated to conservation breeding and environmental education. It serves as a training and education center for the local population, pupils, students, employees of the nature conservation authorities and visitors.

The aim is to raise environmental awareness and to develop skills in the field of nature conservation and environmental management, as well as to promote the sustainable use of natural resources. The implementation of in-situ nature conservation measures and nature conservation-relevant (field) research in Cambodia as well as the provision of information for the future management of the nature conservation areas are among the tasks.

The Amboina box turtle is now very successfully bred in the ACCB in outdoor facilities under near-natural conditions. Since more than 100 young animals have already been raised it can now be considered to release the animals from a scientific point of view in a well-protected area.

However, this is where the problems begin because in addition to the approriately protected habitats there is currently a lack of experience in the release of box turtles. Telemetry studies should help to better understand the species and its requirements in the wild. This should not only collect data on preferred habitats but also on emigration, the size of the territories and behavior.

These studies are important in order to increase the chances of success of later resettlements and thus the chances that the species will re-establish itself in the habitats there.

With the support of the “Species of the Year” campaign the best possible conditions for the release and subsequent monitoring of the animals are to be created in Cambodia.

More information is available on the Species of the year homepage

Species of the year 2018

Species of the year 2018 - the folding mechanism

Species of the year 2018

Die Scharnierschildkröte ist das „Zootier des Jahres 2018“

Einige asiatische Schildkrötenarten sind im Freiland bereits ausgerottet oder nur noch in geringen Beständen vorhanden. Dieses Schicksal teilen auch die Vertreter der Gattung der Scharnierschildkröten (Cuora spp.), zu der 13 Arten zählen.

Das Artenschutzprojekt „Zootier des Jahres 2018 - die Scharnierschildkröte“

Vor allem der Lebensraumverlust, besonders aber der exzessive Handel als Nahrungsmittel oder als vermeintliche Medizin macht den Beständen der Scharnierschildkröten sehr zu schaffen. Schildkröten, insbesondere die Scharnierschildkröten, sind traditionell Bestandteil der chinesischen Medizin und Küche. Die wenigen Zuchtanlagen in Südostasien können den stetig steigenden Bedarf bei weitem nicht decken. Inzwischen werden daher im gesamten südostasiatischen Raum und mittlerweile weit darüber hinaus - bis hin nach Südamerika und Afrika - Schildkröten der Natur entnommen, um die Nachfrage der südostasiatischen Märkte zu decken. Jährlich werden so viele Millionen Individuen - darunter auch stark bedrohte Arten - auf den Märkten zum Verkauf angeboten. Fast alle relevanten Arten stehen kurz vor der Ausrottung oder werden in ihren natürlichen Lebensräumen gar nicht mehr gefunden.

Um diesen besonderen Tieren zu helfen, wurde die Scharnierschildkröte zum „Zootier des Jahres 2018“ gewählt.

Deutschland Schutzprojekt

Das Internationale Zentrum für Schildkrötenschutz (IZS) im Allwetterzoo Münster bedeutet für viele Schildkrötenarten die Chance auf eine Rettung in letzter Minute.

Schildkröten spielen in der südostasiatischen Kultur eine besondere Rolle: sie gelten als Glücksbringer und Symbole für ein langes Leben. Diese eigentlich positiven Eigenschaften werden den Schildkröten aber zum Verhängnis, denn neben der Zerstörung ihrer Lebensräume leiden sie vor allem darunter, dass sie gesammelt und auf Märkten verkauft werden.

Ihr Fleisch, die Innereien oder zermahlene Knochen und Panzer sind Bestandteil der traditionellen Küche und Medizin. So wandern jährlich Millionen von Individuen in die Küchen und Apotheken – ein Eingriff den die natürlichen Populationen nicht kompensieren können.

Aus dieser Situation heraus haben der Privatmann Elmar Meier, die Zoologische Gesellschaft für Arten- und Populationsschutz (ZGAP), die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Herpetologie und Terrarienkunde (DGHT) und der Allwetterzoo Münster 2003 das Internationale Zentrum für Schildkrötenschutz gegründet. Ziel des Zentrums ist es insbesondere die akut bedrohten Arten der Scharnierschildkröten vor der Ausrottung zu retten.

Neun Arten und Unterarten der Gattung Cuora werden gerade im IZS gezüchtet. Mindestens eine dieser Arten hat das IZS vor der Ausrottung bewahrt: Zhoui’s Scharnierschildkröte (Cuora zhoui) war nur von wenigen Individuen bekannt, die auf chinesischen Märkten gefunden wurden. Nur in Münster gelang die nachhaltig erfolgreiche Zucht der Art, so dass heute ca. 70% des bekannten Weltbestandes in Münster aus dem Ei geschlüpft ist. Im letzten Jahr gelang dann eine ganz besondere Nachzucht: die ersten Individuen deren Elterntiere selber bereits im Zoo geboren wurden sind geschlüpft. Dieser Erfolg zeigt, dass die Art nachhaltig in menschlicher Obhut stabilisiert werden kann, denn an eine Auswilderung ist bisher nicht zu denken.

Kambodscha Schutzprojekt

Das Angkor Centre for Conservation of Biodiversity (ACCB) wurde 2003 als eine der ersten Artenschutzstationen in Kambodscha gegründet. Unweit der berühmten Tempelanlage von Angkor Wat gelegen widmet es sich der Aufnahme und Pflege ausgewählter einheimischer Tiere und, sofern möglich, deren späteren Auswilderung unter Einhaltung entsprechender internationaler Standards.

Ursprünglich wurde es als Auffangstation für Individuen bedrohter Arten gegründet. Heute widmet sich das Zentrum mit rund 30 Angestellten auch der Erhaltungszucht und der Umweltbildung. Es dient als Schulungs- und Weiterbildungszentrum für die lokale Bevölkerung, Schüler, Studenten, Angestellte der Naturschutzbehörden und Besucher.

Ziel ist es, das Umweltbewusstsein zu steigern und Kompetenzen im Bereich Naturschutz- und Umweltmanagement aufzubauen sowie die nachhaltige Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen zu fördern. Auch die Durchführung von in situ-Naturschutzmaßnahmen und naturschutzrelevanter (Freiland-)Forschung in Kambodscha, sowie die Bereitstellung von Informationen für das zukünftige Management der Naturschutzgebiete zählt zu den Aufgaben.

Die Amboina-Scharnierschildkröte wird mittlerweile sehr erfolgreich im ACCB in Freilandanlagen unter naturnahen Bedingungen gezüchtet. Da bereits über 100 Jungtiere großgezogen wurden, kann nun darüber nachgedacht werden, die Tiere in einem gut geschützten Gebiet unter wissenschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten auszuwildern.

Hier beginnen aber die Probleme, denn neben den entsprechend geschützten Lebensräumen fehlen derzeit auch die Erfahrungen in der Auswilderung von Scharnierschildkröten. Telemetrie-Studien sollen dabei helfen die Art und ihre Ansprüche in der freien Natur besser zu verstehen. Dabei sollen nicht nur Daten über die bevorzugten Lebensräume, sondern auch über die Abwanderung, die Größe der Territorien und das Verhalten gesammelt werden.

Diese Studien sind wichtig, um die Erfolgsaussichten späterer Wiederansiedelungen zu erhöhen und damit auch die Chancen, dass sich die Art in den dortigen Lebensräumen wieder etabliert.

Durch die Unterstützung der „Zootier des Jahres“-Kampagne sollen in Kambodscha möglichst gute Bedingungen für die Auswilderung und das anschließende Monitoring der Tiere geschaffen werden.

Weitere Infos gibt es auf der Zootier des Jahres Homepage

Zootier des Jahres 2018

Zootier des Jahres 2018 - Der Klappmechanismus

Zootier des Jahres 2018