In the Görlitz nature conservation zoo, species protection is very important to us

What is nature conservation Zoo Görlitz doing in the area of species protection?

public relation

In the zoo there are various days of action that focus on the topic of species protection

Conservation breeding

The zoo participates in various breeding programs and thus supports the existence of endangered species in human care with its offspring

Wildlife sanctuary

Wild animals in need receive help from us

Habitat zoo

Not only zoo animals - the zoo is also home to many wild animals

International projects

The zoo provides financial support for in situ conservation

Regional projects

The zoo takes care of regional conservation projects

protection campaigns

Various nature conservation campaigns such as the "Zoo Animal of the Year" campaign are sponsored by the Görlitz Nature Conservation Park

conservation sponsorships

Nature conservation sponsorships can be concluded through the zoo, thereby actively supporting selected species conservation projects

The sensitization and activation of as many people as possible for the preservation and protection of living beings and living spaces

is an important part of our conservation work. Employees of the zoo and the zoo school are actively involved in the training and further education of various population groups. Special courses offered by the zoo school are e.g. with animal welfare-friendly keeping of pets. The nature protection animal park Görlitz supports offices and specialist authorities in many cases in the confiscation, accommodation or brokering of wild animals that are kept relevant to animal protection to suitable animal husbandry facilities.

In addition to conservation breeding - the so-called ex-situ species protection (programs outside the natural habitat) - zoological institutions are also required to get involved in the protection of habitats of endangered species on site (in-situ species protection). What the Görlitz nature conservation zoo directly supports as part of its nature conservation sponsorships.

For the business

of the Görlitz nature conservation zoo apply the following principles:

  • The applicable laws and regulations are observed.
  • The safety of visitors and staff must always be guaranteed.
  • Only animals are kept, which, taking into account their behavior, their social structure, their spatial and climatic requirements, their nutrition, as well as the necessary hygiene and medical care, can create appropriate living conditions in our zoo.
  • The animals are looked after by trained specialist staff
  • Participation in extensive professional exchange of experience(conferences, courses).
  • Regularly published annual reports and scientific articlesprovide information about the work.
  • Active participation in various nature conservation programs and implementation of qualified educational activities in animal, species, nature and environmental protection.
  • Supporting as many coordinated breeding programs as possible, especially for highly endangered species.
  • ·         Naturschutz-Tierpark Görlitz is also fully committed to questions of population management in accordance with the guidelines of the Association of German Zoo Directors (VDZ) from 2008 and the European and World Zoo and Aquariums Association (EAZA, WAZA).

 

Coordinated breeding programs

Wildlife imports from the countries of origin are becoming increasingly rare due to restrictions on species and animal diseases. For this reason, zoological facilities are dependent on building up self-sustaining animal populations.International cooperation is essential for this. For this reason, the European Conservation Breeding Programs (EEP) and Stud Books (ESB) were launched in 1985 within the European Zoo and Aquarium Association (EAZA). In the network of participating zoos, the breeding of a number of endangered species is coordinated in human care.

coordinator is responsible for each stud book. These are usually employees of a zoo involved in the breeding program. Breeding books are updated annually and all individuals of the species concerned are listed. The data on gender, age, family relationships and number of offspring allow a computer-aided genetic and demographic analysis, on the basis of which recommendations e.g. for animal transfers and optimal mating. The aim is to maintain behaviorally sound animal populations, to avoid inbreeding and to maintain the genetic diversity in an animal population over many generations. Only in this way can living beings adapt to their environment in the long term, which is also important with regard to the possible resettlement of animals born in zoos in their natural habitat.

The Görlitz nature conservation zoo is currently involved in coordinated breeding programs with the following species:

Red panda, manul, golden-headed lion monkey, otter, Indochinese Sika deer, goiter gazelle, blue-crowned lion, Edwards pheasant, griffon vulture.

Numerous examples have now shown that the concept of qualified zoos can function as a "temporary ark". So far, more than 50 animal species and subspecies that were once extinct in the wild have only survived thanks to such coordinated breeding efforts in zoological facilities. Well over 200 animal species have been able to survive Attitudes under human care can already be successfully resettled in their natural habitat.

 

The "Red List"

The World Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) has been leading the international red list of endangered animal and plant species since 1963. It differentiates between the following levels of danger. Both endangered and non-endangered species are subjected to an assessment.

The red list provides information on the degree of threat to a species.

It is, so to speak, an indicator of the biodiversity of nature.

With us in the zoo you will find the degree of threat to an animal species on the sign.

 

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

Click here for the IUCN homepage

Help us!

Here you can support us with your donation in our efforts to preserve biodiversity.

 

Species conservation donation

Im Naturschutz-Tierpark Görlitz ist uns Artenschutz ein großes Anliegen

Was macht der Naturschutz-Tierpark Görlitz im Bereich Artenschutz?

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

im Tierpark gibt es diverse Aktionstage bei denen es besonders um das Thema Artenschutz geht

Erhaltungszucht

Der Tierpark beteiligt sich an verschiedenen Zucht - Programmen und unterstützt so mit seinen Nachzuchten den Bestand bedrohter Arten in Menschenobhut

Wildtierauffangstation

In Not geratene Wildtiere erhalten bei uns Hilfe

Lebensraum Tierpark

Nicht nur Zootieren - auch vielen Wildtieren bietet der Tierpark ein Zuhause

Internationale Projekte

Der Tierpark unterstützt den In Situ Artenschutz finanziell

Regionale Projekte

Der Tierpark kümmert sich um Regionale Artenschutzprojekte

Artenschutzkampagnen

Verschiedene Artenschutzkampagnen wie etwa die "Zootier des Jahres" Aktion werden vom Naturschutz-Tierpark Görlitz gefördert

Naturschutzpatenschaften

Über den Tierpark kann man Naturschutzpatenschaften abschließen und dadurch ausgewählte Artenschutzprojekte aktiv unterstützen

Die Sensibilisierung und Aktivierung möglichst vieler Menschen für die Bewahrung und den Schutz von Lebewesen und Lebensräumen

ist ein wichtiger Teil unserer Artenschutz-Arbeit. Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Tierparks und der Zooschule beteiligen sich aktiv an der Aus- und Weiterbildung verschiedener Bevölkerungsgruppen. Spezielle Unterrichtsangebote der Zooschule befassen sich z.B. mit der tierschutzgerechten Haltung von Heimtieren. Der Naturschutz- Tierpark Görlitz unterstützt vielfach Ämter und Fachbehörden bei der Beschlagnahme, Unterbringung oder Vermittlung von tierschutzrelevant gehaltenen Wildtieren an geeignete Haltungseinrichtungen.

Neben den Erhaltungszuchten - dem sogenannten ex-situ-Artenschutz (Programme außerhalb des natürlichen Lebensraums) - sind zoologische Einrichtungen auch gefordert, sich für den Schutz der Lebensräume bedrohter Arten vor Ort zu engagieren (in-situ-Artenschutz). Was der Naturschutz-Tierpark Görlitz etwa im Rahmen seiner Naturschutz Patenschaften direkt unterstützt.

Für den Betrieb

des Naturschutz-Tierparks Görlitz gelten folgende Grundsätze:

  • Die geltenden Gesetze und Vorschriften werden eingehalten.
  • Die Sicherheit der Besucher und des Personals ist stets zu gewährleisten.
  • Es werden nur Tiere gehalten, denen unter Berücksichtigung ihres Verhaltens, ihrer Sozialstruktur, ihrer räumlichen und klimatischen Ansprüche, ihrer Ernährung sowie der notwendigen Hygiene und medizinischen Versorgung artgemäße Lebensmöglichkeiten in unserem Tierpark geschaffen werden können.
  • Die Betreuung der Tiere erfolgt durch ausgebildetes Fachpersonal
  • Beteiligung an umfangreichem fachlichen Erfahrungsaustausch (Tagungen, Lehrgänge).
  • Regelmäßig veröffentlichte Jahresberichte und wissenschaftliche Artikel geben Aufschluss über die Arbeit.
  • Aktive Teilnahme an diversen Naturschutzprogrammen sowie Durchführung von qualifizierten Bildungsaktivitäten im Tier-, Arten-, Natur- und Umweltschutz.
  • Unterstützung möglichst vieler koordinierter Zuchtprogramme, insbesondere für stark gefährdete Arten.
  • Der Naturschutz-Tierpark Görlitz sieht sich außerdem in den Fragen des Populationsmanagement den Leitlinien des Verbandes deutscher Zoodirektoren (VDZ) von 2008 sowie des Europäischen und des Welt-Zoo- und Aquarien-Verbandes (EAZA, WAZA) in vollem Umfang verpflichtet.

 

Koordinierte Zuchtprogramme

Importe wildlebender Tiere aus den Herkunftsländern sind heute aufgrund arten- und tierseuchenrechtlicher Einschränkungen immer seltener möglich. Zoologische Einrichtungen sind auch deshalb darauf angewiesen, sich selbst erhaltende Tierpopulationen aufzubauen. Internationale Zusammenarbeit ist dazu unerlässlich. Aus diesem Grund wurden 1985 erstmals innerhalb der Europäischen Zoo- und Aquarien-Vereinigung (EAZA) die Europäischen Erhaltungszuchtprogramme (EEP) und Zuchtbücher (ESB) ins Leben gerufen. Im Netzwerk beteiligter Zoos wird so die Zucht etlicher bedrohter Arten in Menschenobhut koordiniert.

Für jedes Zuchtbuch ist ein Koordinator verantwortlich. Dabei handelt es sich meist um Mitarbeiter eines am Zuchtprogramm beteiligten Zoos. Zuchtbücher werden jährlich aktualisiert und sämtliche Individuen der betreffenden Tierart aufgeführt. Die Daten zu Geschlecht, Alter, Verwandtschaftsverhältnissen und Nachkommenzahl erlauben eine computergestützte genetische und demographische Analyse, auf deren Grundlage Empfehlungen z.B. zu Tiertransfers und optimalen Verpaarungen gegeben werden. Das Ziel ist es, verhaltensintakte Tierbestände zu pflegen, Inzucht zu vermeiden und die genetische Vielfalt in einer Tierpopulation über viele Generationen zu erhalten. Nur so können sich Lebewesen langfristig an ihre Umwelt anpassen, was auch im Hinblick auf eine mögliche Wiederansiedlung von in Zoos geborenen Tieren in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum von Bedeutung ist.

Der Naturschutz- Tierpark Görlitz ist aktuell mit folgenden Tierarten an koordinierten Zuchtprogrammen beteiligt:

Roter Panda, Manul, Goldkopflöwenaffe, Fischotter, Indochinesischer Sika Hirsch, Kropfgazelle, Blaukronenhäherling, Edwardsfasan, Gänsegeier.

Dass das Konzept von qualifizierten Zoos als „Arche auf Zeit" funktionieren kann, belegen inzwischen zahlreiche Beispiele. Bislang haben über 50 in der Wildbahn einstmals ausgerottete Tierarten und –unterarten nur dank solcher koordinierter Zuchtbemühungen in zoologischen Einrichtungen überleben können. Weit über 200 Tierarten konnten nach Haltung unter menschlicher Obhut bereits erfolgreich in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum wieder angesiedelt werden.

 

Die „Rote Liste“

Die Weltnaturschutzunion „International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN)“ führt seit 1963 die internationale Rote Liste gefährdeter Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Sie unterscheidet die nebenstehenden  Gefährdungsstufen. Hierbei werden sowohl gefährdete, als auch nicht gefährdete Arten einer Bewertung unterzogen.

Die Rote Liste informiert über den Grad der Bedrohung einer Spezies.

Sie ist sozusagen ein Indikator für die Biodiversität der Natur.

Bei uns im Tierpark finden Sie den Grad der Bedrohung einer Tierart auf dem Gehegeschild.

 

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

Hier geht es zur Homepage der IUCN