Australien flair

Experience in Görlitz - this is possible in the Australian outback opened in 2018.

The facility for the eastern gray kangaroos is in context of our Animal presentationexclusive animal encounter such as special occasions accompanied walkable together with our zoo staff - a unique opportunity for very special animal encounters with the gentle giants!

A true kangaroo paradise with diverse structures was created on around 1000m². Sun and shade places, living vegetation, tree trunks, hills and a shallow water pond provide many incentives for behavior. The raised level in the exterior and interior creates completely new perspectives on the exciting marsupials.

Kangaroos and visitors are not lacking anything in the newly built, heated stable building. A large panoramic window to the stable provides fascinating insights and views for animals and humans even during the cooler season. The new barrier-free visitor toilet (funded by the Sächsisches Staatsministerium für Soziales und Verbraucherschutz „Lieblingsplätze für alle“), a drinking water fountain and the themed jump playground fill a gap in the zoo's previous infrastructure and the place with even more life.

Australisches Flair

in Görlitz erleben - das geht im 2018 eröffneten australischen Outback.

Die Anlage für Östliche Graue Riesenkängurus ist im Rahmen unserer Tierpräsentationen und zu besonderen Anlässen in Begleitung des Zoopersonals begehbar - eine einmalige Gelegenheit für ganz besondere Tierbegegnungen mit den sanften Riesen!

Auf rund 1000m² wurde ein wahres Känguru-Paradies mit vielfältigen Strukturen geschaffen. Sonnen- und Schattenplätze, lebende Vegetation, Baumstämme, Hügel und ein Flachwasserteich sorgen für viele Verhaltensanreize. Durch die erhöhte Ebene im Außen- und Innenbereich ergeben sich ganz neue Perspektiven auf die spannenden Beuteltiere. 

Auch im neu errichteten, beheizbaren Stallgebäude fehlt es Kängurus und Besuchern an nichts. Ein großes Panoramafenster zum Stall ermöglicht faszinierende Ein- und Ausblicke für Tier und Mensch auch während der kühleren Jahreszeit. Die neue barrierefreie Besuchertoilette, ein Trinkwasserbrunnen und der thematisch passende Sprungspielplatz füllen eine Lücke in der bisherigen Infrasturktur des Zoos und den Ort mit noch mehr Leben.